2014 Caribbean Series: Cuba 2, Puerto Rico 1

Vicyohandri Odelin tossed a complete game two-hit gem and the reigning Cuban champion Villa Clara Orangemen notched its first win at the 2014 Caribbean Series with a 2-1 squeaker Tuesday night over Puerto Rico’s Mayaguez Indians.

• Baseball Equipment Sale!
• 50% Off Baseball Equipment
• Discount Baseball Equipment

Mayaguez (1-2) took a quick lead in the opening frame on a two-out solo home run from Eddie Rosario, and was in business again when Ramon Castro followed with a two-base hit. However, the Cuban right-hander nicknamed “Villo” fanned Kennys Vargas to end the early uprising.1-a-villa clara_opt

Cuba (1-3) pulled even in the bottom of the inning. Yuniet Flores reached on a leadoff single, moved up two bases on a pair of groundouts, and crossed the plate on a costly defensive miscue by left fielder Daniel Ortiz.

Odelin, who has a 131-96 record and a 3.27 ERA in 1,909 frames in the Cuban League, found his groove en route to retiring 14 straight hitters before a trio of walks in the sixth loaded the sacks. But the 33-year-old Guantánamo native retired Vargas on a lazy groundball to first base to escape the jam.

Former big league hurler Joel Pineiro worked in and out of a couple of jams before his defense betrayed him again in the seventh. Ramon Lunar started the rally with his tournament-leading seventh hit before motoring to second on a sacfrice bunt. The Puerto Ricans gift-wrapped the go-ahead score for the Cubans with a pair of fielding errors.

1. Venezuela (3-0)
2. Mexico (2-1)
3. Puerto Rico (1-2)
4. Dominican Republic (1-2)
5. Cuba (1-3)

Odelin (1-0), who tossed no-hit ball after a rocky first inning, retired the final 10 batters he faced to post the win. The Camaguey ace allowed a lone score on two hits, three walks and five strikeouts in a magical 132-pitch outing.

Piniero (0-1) was tagged with the loss despite a strong showing. He surrendered two runs and seven hits with no walks over 6 2/3 innings.


Saturday, February 1
Game 1 – Indios de Mayaguez (Puerto Rico) 7, Tigres de Licey (Dominican Republic) 6 (10)
Game 2 – Naranjeros de Hermosillo (Mexico) 9, Villa Clara Naranjas (Cuba) 4

Sunday, February 2
Game 3 – Naranjeros de Hermosillo (Mexico) 6, Indios de Mayaguez (Puerto Rico) 3
Game 4 – Navegantes de Magallanes (Venezuela) 8,Villa Clara Naranjas (Cuba) 5

Monday, February 3
Game 5 – Tigres de Licey (Dominican Republic) 9, Villa Clara Naranjas (Cuba) 2
Game 6 – Navegantes de Magallanes (Venezuela) 6, Naranjeros de Hermosillo (Mexico) 3

Tuesday, February 4
Game 7 – Villa Clara Naranjas (Cuba) 2, Indios de Mayaguez (Puerto Rico) 1
Game 8 – Navegantes de Magallanes (Venezuela) 2, Tigres de Licey (Dominican Republic) 1

Wednesday, February 5
Game 9 – Naranjeros de Hermosillo (Mexico) vs. Tigres de Licey (Dominican Republic)
Game 10– Navegantes de Magallanes (Venezuela) vs. Indios de Mayaguez (Puerto Rico)

Thursday, February 6
Game 11 – TBD
Game 12 – TBD

Saturday, February 8
Game 13 – Championship Game

Photo: BaseballdeCuba

– 2014 ESPN Caribbean Series (English)
Serie del Caribe 2014 (Spanish)